Wait for Me

Zephaniah 3:8 “Therefore  wait for me,” declares the LORD, “for the day when I rise up to seize the prey. For my decision is  to gather nations, to assemble kingdoms, to pour out upon them my indignation, all my burning anger; for in the fire of my jealousy  all the earth shall be consumed.

This verse has been a focus of mine for a few years now, perhaps because it always provides great comfort by explaining this modern world’s political dynamics but also because it always sets me on this gospel rock:-

1 Thessalonians 1:10:- 

“and to wait for his Son from heaven, whom he raised from the dead, Jesus who delivers us from the wrath to come.”

From the Companion Bible regarding Zephaniah 3:8:-

Therefore, &c. The Massorah (Ap. 30 and Ap. 93) calls attention to the fact that this verse (v. 8) contains all the letters of the Heb. alphabet, including the five final letters. This implies that the verse takes in the whole purpose of Jehovah concerning Israel.

Today, I am just beginning to realize that there is even more to this verse than I thought.

Halle lu Jah

Leave a Reply

